Tidbits from West LA: Top four

I’m pretty sure that every time I come to the US I wax lyrical about Trader Joe’s. Something I think is understandable. But I have to wax lyrical about four things specifically, and they really don’t fit into an overarching blog post, but two are TJ related, hence why it was mentioned in the first place. So here are the four most exciting things about vegan food in the WeHo, in my humble (and hungry) opinion.

1. Trader Joe’s spicy peanut vinaigrette. Hell, this could liven up an old shoe if that’s all you had left in the house for dinner. This creamy, salty, slightly sour, spicy, and most definitely delicious vinaigrette is usually poured liberally over a kale, red grapefruit, and avocado salad in my house. But it’s impossible to buy in the UK, and utterly delicious. So Trader Joe’s, please relocate to Brixton, immediately!

IMG_4783

2. Almond Dream chocolate bites. My dreams came true (all of them) when I found out that Almond Dream was being stocked in Waitrose, UK. I have basically lived off Mint Choc Chip Ice Cream for the last six months and now I’ve discovered Almond Dream bites which are like miniature choc ices but they’re vegan and it’s like a sharing pot of rainbows and unicorns. I honestly can’t think of anything better. In the whole world.

IMG_4779

3.  Vromage. Let’s see if you can guess what this is by the name alone? It doesn’t merit it’s own page because WOE IS ME I haven’t visited this place yet. It’s a vegan cheese shop. I can’t believe that I am 1.1m away from this place yet haven’t been. It is, however, Easter Sunday which means freaky-ass opening times over the whole city (plus I’m in my hotel room drinking wine and working on a project very slowly) so just can’t justify taking the time out. This obviously saddens me more than ever, but it is firmly marker-penned on my schedule for my next trip to LA.

IMG_4786

4. Trader Joe’s Cherry Garcia. There’s like a litre of this stuff. It’s pink with plump purple cherries and nuzzlings of dark chocolate scattered liberally throughout. Need I say more? It’s fabulous.

Leave a comment